Mental Health Week – stirring me up mentally!

There’s something about Mental Health Week that is stirring me up Mentally!!

It’s got me thinking and i’m really moved by all of those brave enough to open up and share their own personal stories of living with or living through mental health issues such as anxiety, depression, bi-polar, eating disorders and chemical imbalances in the brain.  For me I’ve lived closely with mental illness – my Grandmother being diagnosed probably 50 yrs ago with Paranoid Schizophrenia and with my own personal journey of depression, anxiety and bulimia…learning self love for me has been a journey, one that I now happily embrace and I have much gratitude for my mental illness as experiencing mental illness has given me the ability to feel.see.sense my inner world, see the dirt on the inside, clean away all that does not serve me and blossom into a spirit that I love.  I love nothing more than inspiring people to do the same – see their darkness, push through it and blossom like a beautiful LOTUS ready to receive all of the gifts of the World!

Now – as for Mental Health Week – this is my tribute, I hope that it moves you and that my writing inspires self love in YOU!!

  • the hardest thing about mental health is that it can be covered up so easily with a smile, do we ever truly know the battles people can be living with at home??

Then how can I be there for my friend/family??

(anyone suffering from mental illness, anyone feeling not quite right)
  1. Be there for your friend, don’t give up on them, if you haven’t seen them for a while – check in on them – keep it light – keep it fun –

I have depression and anxiety – how can I help myself??

  1. Think of one person who you can open up to – reach out to a friend if you need help

The hardest part is realizing you have a mental illness – the second hardest part is reaching out to get help…

You can do this anonymously  @ http://www.beyondblue.org.au/ connect-with-others/online-forums – this is an excellent place to start!

I try to reach out but people don’t respond the way I wish they would…

  • Become your own Best Friend – make yourself do something for you everyday (or at least every second day), force yourself to do something that you LOVE doing – do this for 20 minutes and see how you feel
  • STOP comparing yourself to others – I repeat – stop comparing yourself to others – you are here on your own unique journey – your gifts are incredible – you have all you need inside of you – bring your uniqueness – your gifts to the world!

Know your own personal barometer…

  1. Check in with yourself daily
  2. Ask yourself, “How do I feel right now?”
  3. If you are feeling low – force yourself to do something healthy which makes you feel GOOD!!
  4. Release those endorphins – go for a run!
  5. Know what comes up must come down – ups and downs are a part of life, it doesn’t matter how many times you fall down, the important part is that you pick yourself back up again 🙂
  6. Treat yourself kindly
  7. Practice random acts of kindness for yourself

You are worthy of LOVE u r worthy of self LOVE

  • find that thing that SPARKLES your heart and follow it for life!

Conclusion

  • Be there for your friend
  • Think of 1 person you can reach out to , one person you can trust to help you and let them know how you are feeling
  • Join a forum for free advice/help http://www.beyondblue.org.au/
  • Become your own best friend
  • Stop comparing yourself to others
  • Know your own personal Barometer and check in with yourself daily
  • Do something every day that you love
  • Practice random acts of kindness on yourself
  • Self love is a journey – never give up on your path to self love and happiness

 

Dedicate time to your happiness, may the spark in your heart be inspired to SPARKLE!!

Namaste xx

 

Leave a Reply

